Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra | Price & Mendelssohn

Find yourself inspired by the innovators and dreamers of the past and the talented prodigies of today.


  • Torke: Ash
  • Price: Piano Concerto
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4
  • Soloist — Clayton Stephenson, piano

Program Notes

Something New and Something Old: Join the DSSO as we introduce Duluth’s audience to two spectacular works. Michael Torke’s Ash was inspired by Beethoven’s music and lacks none of the master’s energy and power. Then we hear, for the first time in the Twin Ports, Florence Price’s wonderful Piano Concerto, featuring our young soloist Clayton Stephenson. Ms. Price was one of the first Black female composers to come to prominence during the first half of the 20th century and this work is truly an undiscovered gem of the repertoire. Finally, we enjoy light, sunshine and lust for life with Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony.

Limited in-person seating is available! Call 218-623-DSSO (3776) to reserve in-person seats.