Welcome 2019 New Board Members

The Duluth Entertainment Convention Center welcomes three new members to its Board of Directors. Lynn Williams, Patrick Mullen, and returning board member Carrie Heffernan have recently been appointed to the DECC Board by Minnesota Governor Tim Walz.

[Williams left;  Mullen middle;  Heffernan right]

Lynn Williams worked as an Audience Development Manager at Advanstar Communications and Questex Media before working as the Director of Marketing and Communication at UW-Superior. Since 2018 she has held the position of Director of Marketing and Public Relations at UMD. Williams was a recipient of The Duluth News Tribune’s 20 under 40 award in 2014. She has a Bachelors in Business Administration from the University of Minnesota Duluth. Williams also enjoys running, music, and spending time with her family.

Patrick Mullen has been Chair of the Duluth Chamber of Commerce Military Affairs Committee since 2005, helping to secure a viable long-term mission for the 148th Fighter Wing, including getting them through the BRAC process, securing newer F-16 jets, a new hanger, active association, and now a new line of F-35 Strike Fighters for the future. Mullen has flown on many military humanitarian and civic missions around the United States and Panama as well as flying an F-16 fighter jet. He is currently retired after 29 years as Utility Executive with ALLETE/Minnesota Power and also serves on both the Miller Dwan Foundation Board and Monaco Air Foundation Board.

The DECC is delighted to see Carrie Heffernan return to the board. Heffernan grew up in Duluth and graduated cum laude from Union College in upstate New York. She launched her career with Accenture in NYC working with global companies on large scale transformation. She returned to Duluth ten years ago and continues working with Accenture as a Global Internal Communications Lead. She enjoys volunteering at Chester Bowl and Glen Avon Hockey Rink.

Williams, Mullen, and Heffernan will replace the seats of Greg Fox, Deb Messer, and Yvonne Prettner Solon. Fox served as Board Chair from 2004-2006. Messer served as Board Chair from 2011-2014. We thank all three for their service and commitment to the DECC.

New board members join incumbent board members:

Karen Pionk, Board Chair
Don Ness, Vice Chair
Crystal Pelkey, Board Secretary
David Ross
Mary Finnegan-Ongaro
Roger Reinert
Bill Nelson
Roz Randorf

The DECC is an authority created by state statute with a Board made up of four members appointed by the Governor of Minnesota and seven members appointed by the Mayor of the City of Duluth.  Our Board Members are charged with fiduciary oversight and governance.



You may also be interested in: